Carolina Lino Yoga

Aligning your chakras with Yoga

10 February 2023

Aligning your chakras with Yoga
Aligning your chakras with Yoga

The majority of people who practice yoga have heard of chakras. According to Eastern religions such as Hinduism and Buddhism, chakras are life-force energy centers. There are hundreds of them in the human body, but only seven are considered the main ones, which run from the base of the spine to the top of the head. These rule our physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual well-being.

When we are not feeling well, it is likely that some energy vortices are closed, making it impossible for energy to circulate and causing imbalances.

By aligning the chakras, it is possible to work through all those pains and problems that arise throughout life. This will allow us to revitalize our internal strength and renovate our bodies. Moreover, the awareness of energetic jams before they manifest as a disease.

The chakras are the mirror of our positive or negative behaviors, and to enhance them, we need to be fully aware of what we want and to be pure in our thoughts and actions. Allow the prána to flow and surrender to the moment. It is an authentic journey into your inner self.

Chanting mantras, pránáyámas, meditation, and ásanas all help to activate and balance each chakra.

Below are the seven chakras, as well as each yoga posture that refers to each one of them.

The main chakras:

Muladhára, can be found at the base of the spine. Represented by the color red, it is associated with survival, rootedness, and connection to the earth. In balance, we feel more self-assured, secure, and connected to the present moment and the material world. When it is out of balance, it causes a frequent feeling of insecurity, negativity, and a lack of will to live.

Examples of ásanas that balance this chakra: pádásana and padmásana. The element is earth.

Swadhisthána is located in the lower stomach, four fingers below the bellybutton. It is represented by the color orange. The focus of this chakra is the power over fertility, sexual impulses, and sensuality. When it is in balance, it allows for the free and fluid expression of feelings and emotions. When it is out of balance, it causes sexual dysfunction, kidney problems, and sadness, a lack of affection, insecurity, and guilt. Ásanas that balance this chakra include badhásana and upavistha konásana. The element is water.

Manipura is the stomach/solar plexus chakra. This is the center of power, wisdom, and personal strength, represented by the color yellow. When this chakra is balanced, the being is confirmed as an individual. When it is out of balance, it can cause a person to become selfish, dominant, and aggressive. Ásanas that balance this chakra include vajrolyásana and utkásana. Fire is the element.

Anáhata is found in the thymus of the heart. The color green represents it. It is regarded as the focus of love and wisdom, ruling over affective and sentimental relationships. In balance, it increases our susceptibility to compassion. When out of balance, it can cause emotional and heart problems, as well as sadness and sorrow. Bhujangásana and ushtrásana are two ásanas that balance this chakra. Air is the element.

Vishuddha is the throat chakra. It is represented by the color light blue. It represents the exchange of messages between the heart and the transcendental spirit. When it is balanced, the individual becomes an excellent communicator and is expressive. When out of balance, it can lead to an inability to communicate, insecurity, and problems in the pharynx and larynx. Sarvángasana and halásana are two ásanas that balance this chakra. The element is akasha /ether. 

Ajnã is located in the third eye. Indigo blue is the color that represents it. It is in charge of revitalizing the nervous system and increasing concentration ability, particularly intuition. It promotes mental clarity, intuition, and indifference when in balance. It can cause constant headaches, negative and destructive thoughts, lack of concentration, vision problems, and nightmares when out of balance. Ásanas that balance this chakra include dháranásana and meditation. The element is ether. 

Sahásrara is the crown of the head. The color blue-violet represents it. It is the most important and difficult energy vortex to achieve. This happens because it controls our superior connection, whether with ourselves or with a greater Divine being.
It represents the purest thought, the link between our consciousness and the universe, and it generates clearness and telepathy when in balance. In the absence of balance, it leads to a lack of inspiration, sadness, and reason to live. Matsyásana and Shirsásana are two ásanas that balance this chakra.